2021 OPHA Virtual Annual Conference & Meeting
Featured Presentations

October 11 & 12, 2021

This year, our conference will be held virtually, with no travel required to attend.

2021 Keynote Speakers & Presentations

James L. Mason, Ph.D.

Dr. Mason is the chief equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) officer for Care Oregon. He is the president of OCCAT, an Oregon based company providing comprehensive DEI and cultural competence consultation and training services. He is the former chief diversity officer for Providence Health & Services in the Oregon region, and directed the Office of Multicultural Health for the State of Oregon.  He was one of the inaugural founders of the National Association of State Offices of Minority Health.  He was also a senior consultant and original member of the National Center on Cultural Competence at Georgetown University.  He has consulted with health systems, professional schools and programs, and related health and human service organizations in the United States, Latin America, and Canada on issues of work force diversity and culturally competent service delivery.

Dr. Ryan J. Petteway, DrPH, MPH

Dr. Ryan J. Petteway is a social epidemiologist and assistant professor in the OHSU-PSU School of Public Health. His applied research integrates social epidemiology, critical theory, decolonizing methods, and CBPR/YPAR to examine notions of place, embodiment, and “placemaking” in community health and development. More broadly, his scholarship engages: 1) notions of epistemic, procedural, and distributive justice within public health knowledge production processes, and 2) applications of critical theory to examine dominant discourse/narrative frames of “health equity”, and pervading ethical frames of public health law/police powers.

Dr. Petteway is also an award-winning poet. His poem, “TOGETHER//Untethered”, was awarded an April 2020 National Poetry Month Prize and nominated for a 2021 Pushcart Prize. His poem, “LATENT//Missing”, was honored with the 2020 Lawrence W. GreenPaper of the Year Award by Health Education & Behavior at the 2021 meeting of SOPHE. Other poems have appeared in both academic and poetry presses, including Health Promotion Practice and Kithe, among others.

Prior to his doctoral training, Dr. Petteway served as social epidemiologist and chief epidemiologist for the Baltimore City Health Department. He is an alum of the University of Virginia (BA), University of Michigan (MPH, and University of California, Berkeley (DrPH).

Charlie Fautin, RN, MPH

From 2001 through 2020 Charlie worked at Benton County Health Department administering public and environmental health programs. He focused on building strong, sustainable prevention-oriented programs with a strong emphasis on policy development, equity, and accountability. He also endeavored to better integrate public and environmental health services with behavioral health and primary care medical care, as well as with several other county government departments.

Charlie has served as a board member and President of OPHA, and as Chair of the Conference of Local Public Health Officials (CLHO). In 2015 he was a member of the Governor’s Task Force on the Future of Oregon Public Health, and has continued the effort to fully fund and implement Oregon’s Public Health Modernization initiative.

Emily Medenhall, PhD, MPH

Emily Mendenhall, PhD, MPH is a medical anthropologist and Professor at the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University. She has published widely at the boundaries of anthropology, psychology, medicine, and public health and led a Series of articles on Syndemics in The Lancet. Recent books include, Rethinking Diabetes: Entanglements with Trauma, Poverty, and HIV (2019, Cornell) and Unmasked: How the Coronavirus Response Failed America’s Heartland (in press, Vanderbilt). In 2017, Dr. Mendenhall was awarded the George Foster Award for Practicing Medical Anthropology by the Society for Medical Anthropology. She was recently appointed co-editor-in-chief of Social Science and Medicine—Mental Health.

Plenary Panels 

Details coming soon!


Registration opens June 1, 2021!